How to Watch all of Star Wars in Order!

The Timeline

Listen to the Episode on Ask the Nerd Podcast about this right here:

The Star Wars saga kicked off with Episode IV, then got a prequel trilogy before getting a sequel trilogy, so the storyline is inherently out of order. Chronological order lets you see Star Wars’ characters evolve in real time, including Anakin Skywalker’s journey from bright-eyed boy to troubled warrior and Obi-Wan Kenobi’s transformation from reluctant apprentice to sage Jedi runaway. If you’d prefer to see the Skywalker Saga from its chronological beginnings, here are the Star Wars movies in order of chronological events. 

  • Star Wars: Episode I — The Phantom Menace (1999)
  • Star Wars: Episode II — Attack of the Clones (2002)
  • (This is where the series: “Star Wars Clone Wars” fits)
  • Star Wars: Episode III — Revenge of the Sith (2005)
  • Solo: A Star Wars Story (2018)
  • (This is where the series: “Star Wars Rebels” fits)
  • Rogue One: A Star Wars Story (2016)
  • Star Wars: Episode IV — A New Hope (1977)
  • Star Wars: Episode V — The Empire Strikes Back (1980)
  • Star Wars: Episode VI — Return of the Jedi (1983)
  • (This is where the series: “The Mandalorian” fits)
  • Star Wars: Episode VII — The Force Awakens (2015)
  • (This is where the series: “Star Wars Resistence” Starts)
  • Star Wars: Episode VIII —The Last Jedi (2017)
  • (This is where the series: “Star Wars Resistence” Ends)
  • Star Wars: Episode IX — The Rise of Skywalker (2019)

Folks, with them all moving to Disney+ now, you can setup months of family movies nights for your Star Wars adventures!!! Have fun!